Login       My Wishlist
  My Cart
$0.00 / 0 items
 
Diseasome
Seeking to Better Understands Disease and How to Manage It
International Access
Global Shipping Options Available
  Our Catalog   History

Native American Medicinal Plants: An Ethnobotanical Dictionary


Super Savings Item! Save 38% on the Native American Medicinal Plants: An Ethnobotanical Dictionary by Brand: Timber Press at Diseasome. MPN: 9780881929874. Hurry! Limited time offer. Offer valid only while supplies last. In Native American Medicinal Plants, anthropologist Daniel E. Moerman describes the medicinal use of more than 2700 plants by 218 Native American tribes. Information—adapted from the same research used to create the monumental Native American Ethnobotany—includes 82 categories of medicinal uses, ranging from analgesics, contraceptives, gastrointestinal aids, hypotensive medicines, sedatives, and toothache remedies.Native American Medicinal Plants includes extensive indexes arranged by


Product Description & Reviews

In Native American Medicinal Plants, anthropologist Daniel E. Moerman describes the medicinal use of more than 2700 plants by 218 Native American tribes. Information—adapted from the same research used to create the monumental Native American Ethnobotany—includes 82 categories of medicinal uses, ranging from analgesics, contraceptives, gastrointestinal aids, hypotensive medicines, sedatives, and toothache remedies.Native American Medicinal Plants includes extensive indexes arranged by tribe, usage, and common name, making it easy to access the wealth of information in the detailed catalog of plants. It is an essential reference for students and professionals in the fields of anthropology, botany, and naturopathy and an engaging read for anyone interested in ethnobotany and natural healing.

Features & Highlights

  • Used Book in Good Condition

Additional Information

Manufacturer:Timber Press
Brand:Brand: Timber Press
Part Number:9780881929874
Publisher:Timber Press
Studio:Timber Press
MPN:9780881929874
EAN:9780881929874
Item Weight:2.3 pounds
Item Size:1.56 x 9 x 9 inches
Package Weight:2.29 pounds
Package Size:6.06 x 1.57 x 1.57 inches

Native American Medicinal Plants: An Ethnobotanical Dictionary by Brand: Timber Press

Buy Now:
Native American Medicinal Plants: An Ethnobotanical Dictionary

Brand: Brand: Timber Press
4.0 out of 5 stars with 18 reviews
Condition: New
Lead Time: 1 - 2 Business Days
Availability: In Stock
$29.95
$18.84
You Save: 37%


Quantity:  

 


View More In History.

 


Have questions about this item, or would like to inquire about a custom or bulk order?


If you have any questions about this product by Brand: Timber Press, contact us by completing and submitting the form below. If you are looking for a specif part number, please include it with your message.

First Name:
Last Name:
Email Address:
Your Message:

Related Best Sellers


Wood Becomes Water: Chinese Medicine in Everyday Life
By Kodansha America
ean: 9781568362090, isbn: 1568362099,
Does your back pain flare up in the evening?  Perhaps your water element is weak.  Allergies in the spring?  Emotional outbursts?  Perhaps your wood element is too strong.  Using the five element system of Chinese cosmology as a key—wood, fire, earth, metal, water—Gail Reichstein unlocks the ancient mysteries of Chinese medicine and makes them available for the everyday health and well-being of modern readers. Each chapter includes:- Lists of common ailments associated with each

Patient H.M.: A Story of Memory, Madness, and Family Secrets
By RANDOM HOUSE
ean: 9780812982527, isbn: 0812982525,
“Oliver Sacks meets Stephen King”* in this propulsive, haunting journey into the life of the most studied human research subject of all time, the amnesic known as Patient H.M. For readers of The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks comes a story that has much to teach us about our relentless pursuit of knowledge.Winner of the PEN/E.O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award • Los Angeles Times Book Prize WinnerNAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BYThe Washington Post • New York Post •

Medicine and Western Civilization
By Brand: Rutgers University Press
ean: 9780813521909, isbn: 0813521904,
This fabulous anthology is sure to be a core text for history of medicine and social science classes in colleges across the country. In order to demonstrate how medical research has influenced Western cultural perspectives, the editors have collected original works from 61 different authors around nine major themes (among them ''Anatomy and Destiny,'' ''Psyche and Soma,'' and ''The Construction of Pain, Suffering, and Death''). The authors range from Aristotle, the Bible, and Louis Pasteur, to

The Photographer: Into War-torn Afghanistan with Doctors Without Borders
By imusti
mpn: 9781596433755, ean: 9781596433755, isbn: 1596433752,
Rare book Book DescriptionIn 1986, Afghanistan was torn apart by a war with the Soviet Union. This graphic novel/photo-journal is a record of one reporter's arduous and dangerous journey through Afghanistan accompanying the Doctors Without Borders. Didier Lefèvre’s photography, paired with the art of Emmanuel Guibert, tells the powerful story of a mission undertaken by men and women dedicated to mending the wounds of war. Take a Look Inside The Photographer These color panels and striking

Doctors: The Biography of Medicine
By Brand: Vintage
mpn: 9780679760092, ean: 9780679760092, isbn: 0679760091,
From the author of How We Die, the extraordinary story of the development of modern medicine, told through the lives of the physician-scientists who paved the way.How does medical science advance? Popular historians would have us believe that a few heroic individuals, possessing superhuman talents, lead an unselfish quest to better the human condition. But as renowned Yale surgeon and medical historian Sherwin B. Nuland shows in this brilliant collection of linked life portraits, the theory

Saving Lives in Auschwitz: The Prisoners’ Hospital in Buna-Monowitz
By Purdue University Press
ean: 9781557538246, isbn: 1557538247,
In a 1941 Nazi roundup of educated Poles, Stefan Budziaszek―newly graduated from medical school in Krakow―was incarcerated in the Krakow Montelupich Prison and transferred to the Auschwitz concentration camp in February 1942. German big businesses brutally exploited the cheap labor of prisoners in the camp, and workers were dying. In 1943, Stefan, now a functionary prisoner, was put in charge of the on-site prisoner hospital, which at the time was more like an infirmary staffed by

Viruses, Plagues, and History: Past, Present and Future
By imusti
ean: 9780195327311, isbn: 0195327314,
The story of viruses and humanity is a story of fear and ignorance, of grief and heartbreak, and of great bravery and sacrifice. Michael Oldstone tells all these stories as he illuminates the history of the devastating diseases that have tormented humanity, focusing mostly on the most famous viruses. Oldstone begins with smallpox, polio, and measles. Nearly 300 million people were killed by smallpox in this century alone and the author presents a vivid account of the long campaign to eradicate

Rhetoric and Medicine in Early Modern Europe (Literary and Scientific Cultures of Early Modernity)
By Routledge
ean: 9781138246225, isbn: 1138246220,
Through close analysis of texts, cultural and civic communities, and intellectual history, the papers in this collection, for the first time, propose a dynamic relationship between rhetoric and medicine as discourses and disciplines of cure in early modern Europe. Although the range of theoretical approaches and methodologies represented here is diverse, the essays collectively explore the theories and practices, innovations and interventions, that underwrite the shared concerns of medicine,

The Greatest Benefit to Mankind: A Medical History of Humanity (The Norton History of Science)
By W W Norton Company
mpn: illustrations, ean: 9780393319804, isbn: 0393319806,
''To combine enormous knowledge with a delightful style and a highly idiosyncratic point of view is Roy Porter's special gift, and it makes [this] book . . . alive and fascinating and provocative on every page.''―Oliver Sacks, M.D. Hailed as ''a remarkable achievement'' (Boston Sunday Globe) and as ''a triumph: simultaneously entertaining and instructive, witty and thought-provoking . . . a splendid and thoroughly engrossing book'' (Los Angeles Times), Roy Porter's charting of the history of

The Florence Prescription: From Accountability to Ownership
By CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
mpn: black & white illustrations, ean: 9781500693107, isbn: 1500693103,
No one has ever faced a healthcare crisis as dire as the one that confronted Florence Nightingale at the Scutari Barrack Hospital, yet despite the challenges over a 2-year period she defined the nursing profession and created a blueprint for the hospital as we know it today. Now she returns to Memorial Medical Center to help the leadership team foster a stronger culture of ownership. In this heartwarming and thought-provoking story you will learn: -Why no one ever checks the oil in a rental



Privacy Policy / Terms of Service / Accessibility Statement
© 2019 - diseasome.org. All Rights Reserved.