Login       My Wishlist
  My Cart
$0.00 / 0 items
 
Diseasome
Seeking to Better Understands Disease and How to Manage It
International Access
Global Shipping Options Available
  Our Catalog   History

Patient H.M.: A Story of Memory, Madness, and Family Secrets


Extreame Savings Item! Save 43% on the Patient H.M.: A Story of Memory, Madness, and Family Secrets by RANDOM HOUSE at Diseasome. Hurry! Limited time offer. Offer valid only while supplies last. “Oliver Sacks meets Stephen King”* in this propulsive, haunting journey into the life of the most studied human research subject of all time, the amnesic known as Patient H.M. For readers of The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks comes a story that has much to teach us about our relentless pursuit of knowledge.Winner of the PEN/E.O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award • Los Angeles Times Book Prize WinnerNAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BYThe Washington Post • New York Post •


Product Description & Reviews

“Oliver Sacks meets Stephen King”* in this propulsive, haunting journey into the life of the most studied human research subject of all time, the amnesic known as Patient H.M. For readers of The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks comes a story that has much to teach us about our relentless pursuit of knowledge.Winner of the PEN/E.O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award • Los Angeles Times Book Prize WinnerNAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BYThe Washington Post • New York Post • NPR • The Economist • New York • Wired • Kirkus Reviews • BookPage In 1953, a twenty-seven-year-old factory worker named Henry Molaison—who suffered from severe epilepsy—received a radical new version of the then-common lobotomy, targeting the most mysterious structures in the brain. The operation failed to eliminate Henry’s seizures, but it did have an unintended effect: Henry was left profoundly amnesic, unable to create long-term memories. Over the next sixty years, Patient H.M., as Henry was known, became the most studied individual in the history of neuroscience, a human guinea pig who would teach us much of what we know about memory today. Patient H.M. is, at times, a deeply personal journey. Dittrich’s grandfather was the brilliant, morally complex surgeon who operated on Molaison—and thousands of other patients. The author’s investigation into the dark roots of modern memory science ultimately forces him to confront unsettling secrets in his own family history, and to reveal the tragedy that fueled his grandfather’s relentless experimentation—experimentation that would revolutionize our understanding of ourselves. Dittrich uses the case of Patient H.M. as a starting point for a kaleidoscopic journey, one that moves from the first recorded brain surgeries in ancient Egypt to the cutting-edge laboratories of MIT. He takes readers inside the old asylums and operating theaters where psychosurgeons, as they called themselves, conducted their human experiments, and behind the scenes of a bitter custody battle over the ownership of the most important brain in the world. Patient H.M. combines the best of biography, memoir, and science journalism to create a haunting, endlessly fascinating story, one that reveals the wondrous and devastating things that can happen when hubris, ambition, and human imperfection collide.“An exciting, artful blend of family and medical history.”—The New York Times*Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Features & Highlights

  • RANDOM HOUSE

Additional Information

Manufacturer:Random House Trade Paperbacks
Brand:RANDOM HOUSE
Publisher:Random House Trade Paperbacks
Studio:Random House Trade Paperbacks
EAN:9780812982527
Item Size:1.04 x 8 x 8 inches
Package Weight:0.78 pounds
Package Size:5.2 x 1.3 x 1.3 inches

Patient H.M.: A Story of Memory, Madness, and Family Secrets by RANDOM HOUSE

Buy Now:
Patient H.M.: A Story of Memory, Madness, and Family Secrets

Brand: RANDOM HOUSE
4.6 out of 5 stars with 38 reviews
Condition: New
Lead Time: 1 - 2 Business Days
Availability: In Stock
$20.00
$11.43
You Save: 43%


Quantity:  

 


View More In History.

 


Have questions about this item, or would like to inquire about a custom or bulk order?


If you have any questions about this product by RANDOM HOUSE, contact us by completing and submitting the form below. If you are looking for a specif part number, please include it with your message.

First Name:
Last Name:
Email Address:
Your Message:

Related Best Sellers


Medicine and Western Civilization
By Brand: Rutgers University Press
ean: 9780813521909, isbn: 0813521904,
This fabulous anthology is sure to be a core text for history of medicine and social science classes in colleges across the country. In order to demonstrate how medical research has influenced Western cultural perspectives, the editors have collected original works from 61 different authors around nine major themes (among them ''Anatomy and Destiny,'' ''Psyche and Soma,'' and ''The Construction of Pain, Suffering, and Death''). The authors range from Aristotle, the Bible, and Louis Pasteur, to

The Photographer: Into War-torn Afghanistan with Doctors Without Borders
By imusti
mpn: 9781596433755, ean: 9781596433755, isbn: 1596433752,
Rare book Book DescriptionIn 1986, Afghanistan was torn apart by a war with the Soviet Union. This graphic novel/photo-journal is a record of one reporter's arduous and dangerous journey through Afghanistan accompanying the Doctors Without Borders. Didier Lefèvre’s photography, paired with the art of Emmanuel Guibert, tells the powerful story of a mission undertaken by men and women dedicated to mending the wounds of war. Take a Look Inside The Photographer These color panels and striking

Doctors: The Biography of Medicine
By Brand: Vintage
mpn: 9780679760092, ean: 9780679760092, isbn: 0679760091,
From the author of How We Die, the extraordinary story of the development of modern medicine, told through the lives of the physician-scientists who paved the way.How does medical science advance? Popular historians would have us believe that a few heroic individuals, possessing superhuman talents, lead an unselfish quest to better the human condition. But as renowned Yale surgeon and medical historian Sherwin B. Nuland shows in this brilliant collection of linked life portraits, the theory

Saving Lives in Auschwitz: The Prisoners’ Hospital in Buna-Monowitz
By Purdue University Press
ean: 9781557538246, isbn: 1557538247,
In a 1941 Nazi roundup of educated Poles, Stefan Budziaszek―newly graduated from medical school in Krakow―was incarcerated in the Krakow Montelupich Prison and transferred to the Auschwitz concentration camp in February 1942. German big businesses brutally exploited the cheap labor of prisoners in the camp, and workers were dying. In 1943, Stefan, now a functionary prisoner, was put in charge of the on-site prisoner hospital, which at the time was more like an infirmary staffed by

Viruses, Plagues, and History: Past, Present and Future
By imusti
ean: 9780195327311, isbn: 0195327314,
The story of viruses and humanity is a story of fear and ignorance, of grief and heartbreak, and of great bravery and sacrifice. Michael Oldstone tells all these stories as he illuminates the history of the devastating diseases that have tormented humanity, focusing mostly on the most famous viruses. Oldstone begins with smallpox, polio, and measles. Nearly 300 million people were killed by smallpox in this century alone and the author presents a vivid account of the long campaign to eradicate

Rhetoric and Medicine in Early Modern Europe (Literary and Scientific Cultures of Early Modernity)
By Routledge
ean: 9781138246225, isbn: 1138246220,
Through close analysis of texts, cultural and civic communities, and intellectual history, the papers in this collection, for the first time, propose a dynamic relationship between rhetoric and medicine as discourses and disciplines of cure in early modern Europe. Although the range of theoretical approaches and methodologies represented here is diverse, the essays collectively explore the theories and practices, innovations and interventions, that underwrite the shared concerns of medicine,

The Greatest Benefit to Mankind: A Medical History of Humanity (The Norton History of Science)
By W W Norton Company
mpn: illustrations, ean: 9780393319804, isbn: 0393319806,
''To combine enormous knowledge with a delightful style and a highly idiosyncratic point of view is Roy Porter's special gift, and it makes [this] book . . . alive and fascinating and provocative on every page.''―Oliver Sacks, M.D. Hailed as ''a remarkable achievement'' (Boston Sunday Globe) and as ''a triumph: simultaneously entertaining and instructive, witty and thought-provoking . . . a splendid and thoroughly engrossing book'' (Los Angeles Times), Roy Porter's charting of the history of

The Florence Prescription: From Accountability to Ownership
By CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
mpn: black & white illustrations, ean: 9781500693107, isbn: 1500693103,
No one has ever faced a healthcare crisis as dire as the one that confronted Florence Nightingale at the Scutari Barrack Hospital, yet despite the challenges over a 2-year period she defined the nursing profession and created a blueprint for the hospital as we know it today. Now she returns to Memorial Medical Center to help the leadership team foster a stronger culture of ownership. In this heartwarming and thought-provoking story you will learn: -Why no one ever checks the oil in a rental

Autism's False Prophets: Bad Science, Risky Medicine, and the Search for a Cure
By Columbia University Press
mpn: 9780231146371, ean: 9780231146371, isbn: 023114637X,
A London researcher was the first to assert that the combination measles-mumps-rubella vaccine known as MMR caused autism in children. Following this ''discovery,'' a handful of parents declared that a mercury-containing preservative in several vaccines was responsible for the disease. If mercury caused autism, they reasoned, eliminating it from a child's system should treat the disorder. Consequently, a number of untested alternative therapies arose, and, most tragically, in one such

The Black Death, The Great Mortality of 1348-1350: A Brief History with Documents (Bedford Series in History and Culture)
By Bedford/St. Martin's
ean: 9781319048877, isbn: 1319048870,
.



Privacy Policy / Terms of Service / Accessibility Statement
© 2019 - diseasome.org. All Rights Reserved.