Login       My Wishlist
  My Cart
$0.00 / 0 items
 
Diseasome
Seeking to Better Understands Disease and How to Manage It
International Access
Global Shipping Options Available
  Our Catalog   History

Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers


Blowout Sale! Save 70% on the Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers by W W Norton Company at Diseasome. MPN: 13 illustrations. Hurry! Limited time offer. Offer valid only while supplies last. ''One of the funniest and most unusual books of the year....Gross, educational, and unexpectedly sidesplitting.''―Entertainment WeeklyStiff is an oddly compelling, often hilarious exploration of the strange lives of our bodies postmortem. For two thousand years, cadavers―some willingly, some unwittingly―have been involved in science's boldest strides and weirdest undertakings. They've tested France's first guillotines, ridden the NASA Space Shuttle, been crucified in a Parisian laboratory


Product Description & Reviews

"One of the funniest and most unusual books of the year....Gross, educational, and unexpectedly sidesplitting."―Entertainment WeeklyStiff is an oddly compelling, often hilarious exploration of the strange lives of our bodies postmortem. For two thousand years, cadavers―some willingly, some unwittingly―have been involved in science's boldest strides and weirdest undertakings. They've tested France's first guillotines, ridden the NASA Space Shuttle, been crucified in a Parisian laboratory to test the authenticity of the Shroud of Turin, and helped solve the mystery of TWA Flight 800. For every new surgical procedure, from heart transplants to gender reassignment surgery, cadavers have been there alongside surgeons, making history in their quiet way. In this fascinating, ennobling account, Mary Roach visits the good deeds of cadavers over the centuries―from the anatomy labs and human-sourced pharmacies of medieval and nineteenth-century Europe to a human decay research facility in Tennessee, to a plastic surgery practice lab, to a Scandinavian funeral directors' conference on human composting. In her droll, inimitable voice, Roach tells the engrossing story of our bodies when we are no longer with them.

Features & Highlights

  • W W Norton Company

Additional Information

Manufacturer:W. W. Norton & Company
Brand:W W Norton Company
Part Number:13 illustrations
Publisher:W. W. Norton & Company
Studio:W. W. Norton & Company
MPN:13 illustrations
EAN:9780393050936
Item Weight:0.95 pounds
Item Size:1.1 x 8.6 x 8.6 inches
Package Weight:0.95 pounds
Package Size:5.8 x 1.2 x 1.2 inches

Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers by W W Norton Company

Buy Now:
Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers

Brand: W W Norton Company
4.3 out of 5 stars with 60 reviews
Condition: New
Lead Time: 1 - 2 Business Days
Availability: In Stock
$23.95
$7.40
You Save: 69%


Quantity:  

 


View More In History.

 


Have questions about this item, or would like to inquire about a custom or bulk order?


If you have any questions about this product by W W Norton Company, contact us by completing and submitting the form below. If you are looking for a specif part number, please include it with your message.

First Name:
Last Name:
Email Address:
Your Message:

Related Best Sellers


When the Air Hits Your Brain: Tales from Neurosurgery
By Vertosick, Frank T.
mpn: 9780393330496, ean: 9780393330496, isbn: 0393330494,
The story of one man's evolution from naive and ambitious young intern to world-class neurosurgeon. With poignant insight and humor, Frank Vertosick Jr., MD, describes some of the greatest challenges of his career, including a six-week-old infant with a tumor in her brain, a young man struck down in his prime by paraplegia, and a minister with a .22-caliber bullet lodged in his skull. Told through intimate portraits of Vertosick’s patients and unsparing yet fascinatingly detailed descriptions

The Cure Within: A History of Mind-Body Medicine
By W. W. Norton & Company
mpn: 36 illustrations, ean: 9780393333978, isbn: 0393333973,
''A splendid history of mind-body medicine...a book that desperately needed to be written.'' ―Jerome Groopman, New York TimesIs stress a deadly disease on the rise in modern society? Can mind-body practices from the East help us become well? When it comes to healing, we believe we must look beyond doctors and drugs; we must look within ourselves. Faith, relationships, and attitude matter.But why do we believe such things? From psychoanalysis to the placebo effect to meditation, this vibrant

Heart: A History
By Farrar, Straus and Giroux
ean: 9780374168650, isbn: 0374168652,
The bestselling author of Intern and Doctored tells the story of the thing that makes us tickFor centuries, the human heart seemed beyond our understanding: an inscrutable shuddering mass that was somehow the driver of emotion and the seat of the soul. As the cardiologist and bestselling author Sandeep Jauhar shows in Heart: A History, it was only recently that we demolished age-old taboos and devised the transformative procedures that have changed the way we live.Deftly alternating between key

The Birth of the Clinic: An Archaeology of Medical Perception
By Foucault, Michel
mpn: 9780679753346, ean: 9780679753346, isbn: 0679753346,
In the eighteenth century, medicine underwent a mutation. For the first time, medical knowledge took on a precision that had formerly belonged only to mathematics. The body became something that could be mapped. Disease became subject to new rules of classification. And doctors begin to describe phenomena that for centuries had remained below the threshold of the visible and expressible.In The Birth of the Clinic the philosopher and intellectual historian who may be the true heir to Nietzsche

The Expressiveness of the Body and the Divergence of Greek and Chinese Medicine (Zone Books)
By Zone Books
mpn: 9780942299892, ean: 9780942299892, isbn: 0942299892,
A meditation on the human body as described by the classical Greeks and by the ancient Chinese.At the heart of medical history is a deep enigma. The true structure and workings of the human body are, we casually assume, everywhere the same, a universal reality. But then we look into the past, and our sense of reality wavers: accounts of the body in diverse medical traditions often seem to describe mutually alien, almost unrelated worlds. The Expressiveness of the Body meditates on the contrasts

A History of Public Health
By Johns Hopkins Univ Pr
ean: 9781421416014, isbn: 1421416018,
Since publication in 1958, George Rosen’s classic book has been regarded as the essential international history of public health. Describing the development of public health in classical Greece, imperial Rome, England, Europe, the United States, and elsewhere, Rosen illuminates the lives and contributions of the field’s great figures. He considers such community health problems as infectious disease, water supply and sewage disposal, maternal and child health, nutrition, and occupational

Native American Medicinal Plants: An Ethnobotanical Dictionary
By Brand: Timber Press
mpn: 9780881929874, ean: 9780881929874, isbn: 0881929875,
In Native American Medicinal Plants, anthropologist Daniel E. Moerman describes the medicinal use of more than 2700 plants by 218 Native American tribes. Information—adapted from the same research used to create the monumental Native American Ethnobotany—includes 82 categories of medicinal uses, ranging from analgesics, contraceptives, gastrointestinal aids, hypotensive medicines, sedatives, and toothache remedies.Native American Medicinal Plants includes extensive indexes arranged by

Wood Becomes Water: Chinese Medicine in Everyday Life
By Kodansha America
ean: 9781568362090, isbn: 1568362099,
Does your back pain flare up in the evening?  Perhaps your water element is weak.  Allergies in the spring?  Emotional outbursts?  Perhaps your wood element is too strong.  Using the five element system of Chinese cosmology as a key—wood, fire, earth, metal, water—Gail Reichstein unlocks the ancient mysteries of Chinese medicine and makes them available for the everyday health and well-being of modern readers. Each chapter includes:- Lists of common ailments associated with each

Patient H.M.: A Story of Memory, Madness, and Family Secrets
By RANDOM HOUSE
ean: 9780812982527, isbn: 0812982525,
“Oliver Sacks meets Stephen King”* in this propulsive, haunting journey into the life of the most studied human research subject of all time, the amnesic known as Patient H.M. For readers of The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks comes a story that has much to teach us about our relentless pursuit of knowledge.Winner of the PEN/E.O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award • Los Angeles Times Book Prize WinnerNAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BYThe Washington Post • New York Post •

Medicine and Western Civilization
By Brand: Rutgers University Press
ean: 9780813521909, isbn: 0813521904,
This fabulous anthology is sure to be a core text for history of medicine and social science classes in colleges across the country. In order to demonstrate how medical research has influenced Western cultural perspectives, the editors have collected original works from 61 different authors around nine major themes (among them ''Anatomy and Destiny,'' ''Psyche and Soma,'' and ''The Construction of Pain, Suffering, and Death''). The authors range from Aristotle, the Bible, and Louis Pasteur, to



Privacy Policy / Terms of Service / Accessibility Statement
© 2019 - diseasome.org. All Rights Reserved.